Internet Explorer 7

New to online business? Still in the research stage? Need motivation?Post your getting started questions, tips, and get feedback here. No Ads

Internet Explorer 7

Postby tishialee on Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:27 pm

One of my clients has a project for me to do but it requires that I install IE7 on my computer.

So I tried installing it and needless to say it didn't go well. My computer froze up on me and I had to shut it down and now it seems to be running slower than normal and pages freeze frequently (sigh).

Anyone know why it wouldn't of downloaded properly for me and why I now seem to be having issues???
Tishia Lee
Specializing in Mp3 Transcription
http://www.tishiasavestime.com
User avatar
tishialee
*Super Supportive Mom & Great Friend*
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:16 pm
Location: Burton, Michigan

Postby Mel on Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:25 pm

I have no clue but I wonder did you uninstall the old version before trying to install the new one? Not sure if it has to be done that way but maybe there was a conflict there???
Melody

Want to be a VA? Let me show you how! VirtualBusinessMavens.com
Essential Office Support: Helping you manage, market and grow your business.
User avatar
Mel
General Manager
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Tennessee

Postby sti1990 on Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:21 pm

I hate when easy things aren't so easy! I'm not a techie so I don't have any ideas for you but I hope you get it sorted out quickly.
User avatar
sti1990
Great Friend of Internet Based Moms
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 11:04 am
Location: NY

Postby tishialee on Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:46 pm

It's turning into a huge issue & all because one stupid download that was supposed to be so easy!

My computer just isn't the same since I tried downloading IE7 and I can't figure out how to fix it. The freezing up is interfering with work I'm trying to and it's starting to tick me off.

I didn't unistall the old IE - I didn't think about it.
Tishia Lee
Specializing in Mp3 Transcription
http://www.tishiasavestime.com
User avatar
tishialee
*Super Supportive Mom & Great Friend*
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:16 pm
Location: Burton, Michigan

Postby Keri Wolf on Sat Jul 21, 2007 12:05 pm

Let me know what you find out. I downloaded and automatic update a little while ago and now there are some web pages I can't get to pull up. It makes my computer freeze up.
Keri
User avatar
Keri Wolf
Great Friend and IBMoms Regular
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 8:58 am
Location: Illinois

Postby Mel on Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:45 pm

I would uninstall it or if you can't do that, then do a system restore to a date before you downloaded IE7. That's really the only thing I know to tell you.

I don't use IE for this very reason. There's just way too many issues to deal with.
Melody

Want to be a VA? Let me show you how! VirtualBusinessMavens.com
Essential Office Support: Helping you manage, market and grow your business.
User avatar
Mel
General Manager
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Tennessee

Postby Mara B on Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:10 pm

I've had problems with IE, too. I have it installed but I won't use it unless I just absolutely don't have a choice in the matter. Maybe it's a planned problem so that you have to switch to Vista instead? :wink:
User avatar
Mara B
*Super Supportive Mom & Great Friend*
 
Posts: 427
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Alabama

Postby Lynette on Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:47 pm

I agree with Mel. The best thing to do is to uninstall/reinstall. Backup/do a restore point before hand.
User avatar
Lynette
*Super Supportive Mom & Great Friend*
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:48 am
Location: Coastal NC

Postby tishialee on Tue Jul 24, 2007 12:36 am

I uninstalled and restarted my computer today and so far it seems to be running smooth again.

I think it's time to just start using Mozilla Firefox and skip IE7 or IE for that matter!
Tishia Lee
Specializing in Mp3 Transcription
http://www.tishiasavestime.com
User avatar
tishialee
*Super Supportive Mom & Great Friend*
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:16 pm
Location: Burton, Michigan

Postby sti1990 on Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:21 am

Glad you got your problem resolved Tishia!

I just started using Firefox and it's a mystery to me why something will show up using that but I get error messages when I use IE.
User avatar
sti1990
Great Friend of Internet Based Moms
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 11:04 am
Location: NY

Postby Keri Wolf on Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:45 am

I just recently started using Firefox also, and I would have to say I really like it!
Keri
User avatar
Keri Wolf
Great Friend and IBMoms Regular
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 8:58 am
Location: Illinois

Postby Alice Seba on Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:31 pm

tishialee wrote:I think it's time to just start using Mozilla Firefox and skip IE7 or IE for that matter!


Oh goodness, then you have a new host of problems. Both browsers are full of quirks that drive me insane.

But back to IE - why does all the text look blurry in it? It is really weird.
User avatar
Alice Seba
*AWESOME Mom & Friend of IBMoms*
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 10:39 pm
Location: Canada


Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron