Is taking on two business opportunities a common mistake...

Discuss web design, copywriting, SEO, traffic, advertising techniques and other aspects of developing a successful business.

Is taking on two business opportunities a common mistake...

Postby melmel on Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:41 am

I'm new to Direct Sales and am currently doing two. One I love the products because they add style in my home. The second, I love the product because how it keeps my family healthy and active!

It's challenging enough to balance family and one business... but what is the best way to balance family and multiple businesses? Let's face it, you don't need a lot of money to be successful, but it sure helps :-)

Is taking on two business opportunities a common mistake or can they both be managed successfully? Is anyone here in the same boat and can you provide any tips and/or lessons learned?

Thanks in advance...
melmel
New to Internet Based Moms

Postby Audrey on Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:12 pm

I've been in direct sales for 25 years. I did switch companies (long story, law suit involved), however I've never marketed more than one company.

I have accounts with two companies today. I have a Watkins account. They have the best products, but I don't market it at all.

Then I have my Tupperware account. That's what I market.

My reasoning is this:

1. the time it would take me to market another business, I'd rather build my team/customer base with Tupperware

2. when you have two businesses, it's near impossible to convince your team they only need one business, and when your team is putting some time into YOUR business and some time into another business, I feel you are losing money.
Audrey
*AWESOME Mom & Friend of IBMoms*

Postby tam2005 on Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:46 pm

I'm not in direct sales....but if I were, I would pick just one company and give it my all. Just my 2 cents. ;)

Audrey...I didn't know you were with Watkins.
tam2005
*Super Supportive Mom & Great Friend*